General Knowledge

Prime Ministers of India since Independence



Time Period

Political party

1 Jawahar Lal Nehru 15-Aug-1947 to 27-May-1964 Indian National Congress
2 Gulzarilal Nanda 27-May-1964 to 9 June 1964 Indian National Congress
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri 09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966 Indian National Congress
4 Gulzarilal Nanda 11-Jan-1966 to 24 January 1966 Indian National Congress
5 Indira Gandhi 24-Jan-1966 to 24-Mar-1977 Indian National Congress
6 Morarji Desai 24-Mar-1977 to 28-Jul-1979 Janata Party
7 Charan Singh 28-Jul-1979 to 14-Jan-1980 Janata Party
8 Indira Gandhi 14-Jan-1980 to 31-Oct-1984 Indian National Congress
9 Rajiv Gandhi 31-Oct-1984 to 02-Dec-1989 Indian National Congress(Indira)
10 Vishwanath PratapSingh 02-Dec-1989 to 10-Nov-1990 Janata Dal
11 Chandra Shekhar 10-Nov-1990 to 21-Jun-1991 Samajwadi JanataParty
12 P. V. Narasimha Rao 21-Jun-1991 to 16-May-1996 Indian National Congress
13 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16-May-1996 to 01-Jun-1996 Bharatiya Janata Party
14 H. D. Deve Gowda 01-Jun-1996 to 21-Apr-1997 Janata Dal
15 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19-Mar-1998 to 22-May-2004 Bharatiya Janata Party
16 Dr. Manmohan   Singh 22-May-2004 to 26-May-2014 Indian National Congress
17 Narendra Modi 26-May-2014  to present Bharatiya Janata Party
Please login to get access to the quiz
Countries, Capitals & their Currencies (Prev Lesson)
Back to General Knowledge

No Comments

Comments are closed.